Territories are areas of territory that have no permanent population and as such cannot be fully incorporated into the Empire as a Province or Colony. These are often much larger than standard territories, and are claimed without a Treaty, instead using a standard piece of legislation. As such, it is recognised that the Empire has less sovereignty over Territorial Claims than it does over other types of land. The lack of a Treaty means that consent from the macronational landowner is not needed - all that is required is a military occupation. As a result, Claims are often seldom-used parks. Presently, there are three territories: the Jagstonian Plains, Sandal Castle and Ashoria.