The Empire of Adammia is ruled under a constitutional monarchy, where an Emperor or Empress is the Head of State and has considerable, though limited powers. In Adammia, these powers are exercised through an entity known as the Office of the Emperor.

The Office of the Emperor is currently occupied by the House of Belcher. The incumbent, Adam, is the son of the head of the house, Kevin. In his position as Monarch, Adam holds the title: His Imperial Majesty Emperor Adam I.

Emperor Adam founded the Empire in April 2013 and since then he has been the only occupant of the position of Monarch. This means he holds the latin title of Imperator Adammiae I, where the "I" denotes the number of Monarchs that have ruled Adammia since its foundation.

The Office is currently physically located in the Imperial Household, in Adamsville, Primoria. As well as issuing Imperial Decrees, the Office manages the Knighthoods and Damehoods awarded as part of the Order of Adammia. All Treaties of Annexation also bear the title of the Office of the Emperor.

Office staff

-HIM Emperor Adam I - Monarch (Head of State, Chair of the Ruling Council, Judge of the Grand Court, Sovereign of the Order of Adammia, Grand Marshal of the Military of Adammia)

-HG Sir Reginald Hall - Chief Advisor to the Monarch

-HIH Emperor Mother Jayne - Deputy Chief Advisor to the Monarch

-Colonel Sir Will McCracken - Military Advisor to the Monarch

-Sir Alexander Helliker - Legal Advisor to the Monarch

-Lord Patrick Vladek - Grand Master of the Ordo Vladius (i.e. head of personal ambassadorial staff and head of security)

-Admiral Emily Simpson - Director of Communications (i.e. press secretary and spokesperson)

-Sir Richard Hytholoday - Senior Press Officer

The Powers of the Monarch

The legislation that granted this power is in brackets.
-The ability to issue Imperial Decrees, one of two forms of legislation in the Empire. The Ruling Council can vote to overturn these, however. (Supreme Directive)
-The ability to annex new land to the Empire through a Treaty of Annexation, which must be countersigned by the macronational owner of the land. (Imperial Decree XVII Adam I)
-The ability to propose an amendment to the Supreme Directive. (Supreme Directive)
-The ability to give Imperial Consent to any Act of Council. Consent must be given for the Act to become law. (Supreme Directive)
-The power to issue titles to any citizen or non-citizen. (Supreme Directive)
-The power to provide exemptions to any law for any citizen, and to pardon them for any crime. (Supreme Directive)
-The power to grant or remove full or honourary citizenship to any individual. (Supreme Directive)
-The power to appoint Advisors and a Chief Advisor. (Supreme Directive)
-The ability to declare a Regency and appoint a Lord/Lady Regent in their absence. (Supreme Directive)
-The ability to start and end meetings of the Ruling Council as its Chair. (Supreme Directive)
-The ability to set the date for local and national elections. (Supreme Directive)
-The power to approve or reject any candidate for the position of Prime Minister. (Supreme Directive)
-The power to remove the Prime Minister from office. (Supreme Directive)
-The ability to judge whether or not a territory is part of the Country of Adammia or if it is a Colony. (Supreme Directive)
-The ability to determine penalties for those convicted as Judge of the Grand Court. (Supreme Directive)
-Control over the armed forces as its Grand Marshal (Commander-in-chief). (Imperial Decrees I, XI, XVI Adam I)
-The ability to change any national symbol of the Empire except for the National Anthem and Flag. (Imperial Decree III Adam I)
-The ability to induct people into the Order of Adammia as knights or dames. (Imperial Decree V Adam I)
-The ability to nominate a candidate for the position of Lord Chancellor. (Supreme Directive, Act 4 Government Ministries 2013)
-The ability to grant diplomatic formal recognition to other states. (Imperial Decree XIII Adam I)
-The power to name their partner their official Prince/Princess Consort. (Imperial Decree XVI Adam I)
-The ability to override a decision by the Ruling Council to begin a Regency. (Supreme Directive)
-The power to appoint the Archduke/Archduchess of a Region with the consent of the Ruling Council. (Supreme Directive)
-The power to give consent to an appointment of a Duke/Duchess of a Province. (Supreme Directive)
-The power to sign a multilateral international treaty, and to give Imperial Consent to an instrument of ratification (subject to ratififcation by the Ruling Council) (Imperial Decree XX Adam I)
-The ability to create place-names for locations which do not already have them (Act 6 Place-Names 2013)

The Imperial Family

What is currently classified as the 'Imperial Family' includes five individuals. Four of these are of the House of Belcher: His Imperial Highness Emperor Father Kevin, as the Head of the House; His Imperial Majesty Emperor Adam I, eldest son of Kevin and Monarch of Adammia; His Imperial Highness Crown Prince Daniel, second son of Kevin and Heir to the Throne; and His Imperial Highness Prince Jake, third son of Kevin and second-in-line to the Throne. There is also Her Imperial Highness Emperor Mother Jayne, who separated from the Emperor Father in 2009 and so is no longer part of the Imperial House, but is considered part of the Imperial Family due to her being the mother of the Emperor and the Princes.

The Line of Succession

The Line of Succession is a list of individuals who could inherit the position of Monarch if Emperor Adam died or abdicated. In the unfortunate event that this would happen, the Prime Minister would go down the Line of Succession, starting with the Heir, and ask each person if they want to be Monarch. The Line of Succession is hereditary - it goes first to the descendants of the incumbent, then to the siblings of the incumbent, then to his or her spouse, and so on - and it uses gender-neutral primogeniture.

Incumbent: His Imperial Majesty Emperor Adam I
1. His Imperial Highness Crown Prince Daniel - Heir to the Throne
2. His Imperial Highness Prince Jake

Here ends the official Line of Succession with the House of Belcher. However, the Monarch can choose where he wants the Line of Succession to start from next. Emperor Adam has implied on numerous occasions that the Line of Succession should transfer to the House of Hall, from which the Emperor Mother hails. If this were to be made official by the Office of State, the Line would continue as follows:

3. His Grace Sir Reginald Hall - Head of the House of Hall, Grandfather to the Emperor
4. -Her Imperial Highness Emperor Mother Jayne
5. -His Grace Sir Christopher Hall
6. --Eleanor Hall
7. --Christina Hall
8. -Lord Sir Andrew Hall
9. -Lady Madam Julie Foster
10. --Lord Sir Matthew Foster
11. --James Foster
12. -Lord Sir David Hall

Princess Consort

The title of Consort was established by Imperial Decree XVI on 28 October 2013. It was intended to be reserved for the Monarch's romantic (unmarried) partner, known as a Prince Consort if male and a Princess Consort if female. It was created in the unlikely chance that a romantic endeavour being undertaken by the Emperor at the time was successful; the said endeavour failed, and the position was left vacant until 3 March 2014, when Madam Sydney Saindon, a close friend of the Emperor, was granted the title by Imperial Decree XXII. Princess Consort Sydney held the title until January 2015 in an unromantic capacity. As the Emperor and Madam Sydney have now grown more distant, the position is currently vacant.


You can contact the Office of the Emperor through: