Government type: Constitutional executive monarchy
Emperor (Head of State): His Imperial Majesty Emperor Adam I
Monarchy type: Hereditary
Constitution: The Supreme Directive
Legislature: Imperial Parliament
Upper Chamber: Ruling Council
Legislation types: Imperial Decrees & Acts of Parliament
Executive: Imperial Government
Prime Minister (Head of Government): His Grace Lord Sir Charles Michael PM COA
Judiciary: The Grand Court

How the Government works

There are four main components to the government of the Empire of Adammia: The Monarchy, the Imperial Parliament, the Imperial Government, and the Grand Court.

The Monarchy is the Monarch and their family, known as the Imperial Family. The Monarch is an Emperor or Empress, and they are the Head of State of the Empire. The Monarch has many powers and responsibilities, and is seen as the overall leader of the nation, having oversight over the legislative, executive and judicial branches of government. The Monarch controls the Military and the chivalric orders, but their main constitutional role is legislative - they can issue Imperial Decrees, a form of legislation, though these are subject to the scrutiny of the Imperial Parliament. Furthermore, the Imperial Government acts in the name of the Monarch and its leader, the Prime Minister, must be approved by the Monarch before taking office.

The Imperial Parliament is the Empire's legislature, responsible for setting the Empire's laws. It has two components: the Emperor-in-Parliament and the Ruling Council (upper chamber). The House of Citizens (lower chamber) was abolished in 2022. The Ruling Council consists of a representative from each province (by default the landed noble, but the province can choose how it selects its representative) and an equal number of national councilors elected under Single Transferable Vote at annual general elections. The agreement of all components is needed for an Act of Parliament to become law.

The Imperial Government is the executive body of the Empire. Its leader, the Prime Minister, must have the confidence of the Ruling Council, so they are usually the leader of the largest party or coalition within the Council. The Imperial Government is divided into Ministries, each ran by a Minister (usually a member of the House) appointed by the Prime Minister. The Cabinet is a committee of all the Ministers chaired by the Prime Minister. The Imperial Government is responsible for overseeing the day-to-day affairs of the Empire and is held accountable by the Parliament.

The Grand Court is the highest level of the Empire's judiciary, and has the role of dealing with incidents where the law is broken or disputed. Its judge is the Monarch. Below it are criminal and civil courts for both first instance and appeals.